Hawaii is the southernmost state in USA. One of the interesting facts about Hawaii is that it has been continuously growing in area. Know some more fun facts about Hawaii.

Facts About Hawaii

Hawaii is the name of a state in the United States of America, located near the Pacific Ocean. Located in the southwest of USA, it has Japan on its southeast and Australia in its northeast. The fact that Hawaii does not share any border with the United States goes on to prove that it has one of the most isolated population on the face of this earth. This is because it is 3,846 km from California, 6,196 km from Japan and 7886 km from China. Hawaii was included as the 50th state of United States, on August 21, 1959 and consists of 8 largely populated islands, which make up the state’s total land area.  Honolulu is the capital of Hawaii and is located at the island of Oahu. Did you know that Hawaii is the widest state in the United States? If you didn’t know that and you are looking for more such interesting facts, explore some more fun and interesting facts about the state of Hawaii in this article.
Image: Flying Cloud@flickr
Fast Facts
Country: United States of America
Continent: North America
Area: 28,311 km2
Capital: Honolulu
Population: 1,392,313
Official Languages: English, Hawaiian
Interesting & Fun Facts About Hawaii
  • Hawaii is the southernmost U.S. state.
  • Hawaii is the only state in United State that is not geographically located in North America.
  • Hawaii is also the one US state that has a royal palace, is completely surrounded by water, does not have a straight line in its state boundary and has been continuously growing in area.
  • The state of Hawaii has been nicknamed Aloha State.
  • From east to west, Hawaii is the widest state in the United States.
  • The state of Hawaii consists of eight main islands - Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe and the Big Island of Hawaii.
  • Hawaii has the most isolated population - it is 2,390 miles from California; 3,850 miles from Japan; 4,900 miles from China; and 5,280 miles from the Philippines.
  • Hawaii has its own time zone i.e. Hawaiian Standard Time and there is no daylight savings time. The time runs two hours behind Pacific Standard Time and five hours behind Eastern Standard Time.
  • Hawaii is the biggest one of the eight Hawaiian Islands.
  • Hawaii is home to one of the world's largest active volcanoes, Mauna Loa.
  • Hawaii is the only US state that grows coffee.
  • More than one-third of the world's commercial supply of pineapples comes from Hawaii.
  • Hawaii is one of four U.S. States that were independent prior to becoming a part of the US.
  • Captain James Cook, who was amongst the first European explorers that discovered the islands in 1778, called the islands Sandwich Islands. However, King Kamehameha I united the islands under his rule, as the Kingdom of Hawaii.
  • Hawaii's tallest mountain, Mauna Kea stands at 13,796 ft and is taller than Mount Everest, if followed from the base of the mountain - on the floor of the Pacific Ocean.
  • Hawaii was the first state in the union to legalize abortion.
  • The state of Hawaii has two official languages - English and Hawaiian.
  • Aloha is a Hawaiian word that means both hello and good-bye.
  • There are only 12 letters in the Hawaiian alphabet. Vowels: A, E, I, O, U and Consonants: H, K, L, M, N, P, W
  • Hawaiian Islands are the projecting tops of the biggest mountain range in the world.
  • Hawaii is still home to one of the rarest species of monk seal.
  • Hawaii is currently the only state in the union with a unified school system statewide.
  • Hawaii is home to the ‘Happy Face Spider’, which bears a strange semblance to a smiley face on the spider’s back.
  •  Did you know that the only snake to be found in Hawaii is the Hawaiian blind snake.
  • The popular dance form ‘Hula’, was originally a form of worship performed by highly trained men. Today, Hula is performed all over Hawaii for worship and to entertain tourists and is performed by women.
  • There are four counties in Hawaii: Kauai, city and county of Honolulu, Maui, and Hawaii. Each city has a mayor and council in charge.
  • Because of its continuous volcanic eruptions, Hawaii is the only state in the nation to have an increasing land area.
  • Only two types of mammals are native to Hawaii: the hoary bat and the monk sea.
  • The oldest Catholic Cathedral in the United States is the Cathedral of Our Lady of Peace in Honolulu, built in 1843.

How to Cite

More from iloveindia.com