Did you know that Comoros has not one, but three official languages? Browse through this article to know more on the archipelago nation of Comoros or the Union of Comoros.

Facts About Comoros

Comoros, officially known as the Union of Comoros, consists of a group of islands located in the Indian Ocean. Comoros is situated off the Eastern coast of Africa and in terms of claimed geographical area is the third-smallest nation in Africa. In terms of the population of the country, Comoros is the sixth-smallest country in the continent of Africa. The name Comoros can trace its roots to the Arabic word ‘Qamar’, which in Arabic, literally translates to ‘moon’. The country apart from officially comprising four main islands also has under its commands several smaller islands on the Indian Ocean. Although the country gained independence from France, one of its islands still functions under the rule of the French. Comoros or the ‘Union of Comoros’ is the only nation in the world to be a member of the African Union, Arab League, Organization of the Islamic Conference, Indian Ocean Commission and Francophonie. Make a move to read and know more on the archipelago nation of the ‘Union of Comoros’.
Image: Woodlouse@flickr
Interesting And Fun Facts About Comoros 
  • Comoros is located at the northern mouth of the Mozambique Channel. The country is situated around two-thirds of the way between northern Mozambique and northern Madagascar.
  • Comoros experiences a tropical marine climate. The country’s rainy season begins in November and extends to the month of May.
  • The country’s islands are mostly volcanic with interiors that range from low hills to steep mountains.
  • Comoros as a country is extremely susceptible to cyclones, mostly during the rainy season.
  • The lowest point in Comoros is obviously the Indian Ocean. The highest point however is Le Karthala, an active volcano that towers over the nation at an intimidating height of 2,360 m.
  • The island of Comoros comprises of three main islands, namely, Anjouan, Moheli and Grande Comore. These are the islands that make up Comoros, but the country also lays claim to another island known as Mayotte. Mayotte however is administered by France and only claimed by Comoros.
  • The country’s motto is "Unité – Solidarité – Développement” (French). It means ‘Unity – Solidarity – Development’.
  • Comoros has three official languages. They are, namely, Comorian, Arabic, and French.
  • The flags of most African countries are famous for ‘flaunting’ a star and a crescent shape. However, Comoros is a country that’s famous for having more than one star on its flag. The country has a grand total four stars on its flag, with each star representing its four islands.
  • Comoros is a ‘Federal republic’ and is currently headed by President Ahmed Abdallah M. Sambi.
  • Comoros gained independence from the French on 6 July (1975). July 6 every year is celebrated as the country’s ‘Independence Day’.
  • The islands of Comoros have on one side the Indian Ocean and the Mozambique Channel on the other. It is the Mozambique Channel that separates Africa from the country of Madagascar.
  • Moroni is the capital city of Comoros. It is also the largest city in the country. Moroni is situated on the island of Grande Comore and has been the capital of Comoros since 1962.  
  • Did you know that Comoros is the second-largest producer of vanilla in the world? It is second only to Madagascar.
  • The country is the largest producer of ylang-ylang, which is an ingredient used in the making of fragrance oils.

How to Cite

More from iloveindia.com