Croatia is a country in Europe, which lies along the Adriatic Sea and its hinterland. To know more about Croatia, make use of the fun and interesting facts given here.

Facts About Croatia

Croatia is a southern-central European country, situated at the crossroads with the Mediterranean and Southeastern Europe. It lies along the Adriatic Sea and its hinterland, stretching from the slopes of Alps and Pannonian Valley to the banks of Danube and Drava rivers. As per its natural characteristics, Croatia can be divided into three geographically distinct zones - Coastal region, Mountain region and Pannonian region. Apart from bordering Slovenia and Hungary in the north, Serbia in the northeast, Bosnia and Herzegovina in the east and Montenegro in the far southeast, it also shares a sea border with Italy in the Gulf of Trieste. To know more about Croatia, read on.
Fun & Interesting Facts about Croatia
  • The official name of Croatia is the ‘Republic of Croatia’.
  • The official language of Croatia is Croatian, which is written in the Latin script.
  • The majority of the population in Croatia comprises of Roman Catholics. However, one can finds people of Orthodox faith, Muslims and Christians of other denominations there.
  • The currency of Croatia is Kuna.
  • The capital of Croatia is Zagreb.
  • Croatia follows the system of Presidential - Parliamentary democracy.
  • Croatia gained independence from Austria-Hungary in October 1918 and declared its independence from Yugoslavia in 1991.
  • Croatia is a member of United Nations, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe and the Council of Europe.
  • Croatia is also a candidate for membership of the European Union and received a NATO membership invitation in April 2008.
  • Croatia became a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for the 2008-2009 term, in October 2007.
  • Croatia was founded in the first half of 7th century, on the ruins of the Roman Empire.
  • Croatia forms a part of the Balkan Peninsula, an area in South East Europe.
  • Dalmatia, stretching from the Kvarner Riviera in the north to Dubrovnik in the south, forms the coastal region of Croatia.
  • Dalmatian dog, also known as the Dubrovnik hunter, originally came from Dalmatia.
  • Cres forms one of the largest islands of Croatia.
  • The town of Stari Grad on Hvar has been found to date back to the Greek colony of Pharos.
  • Porec city of Croatia is known for its Euphrasius Basilica, built in the 6th century.
  • The historic city of Trogir and the palace of the Roman Emperor Diocletian, in Split, form World Heritage Sites.
  • The oldest university in Croatia is the University of Zagreb, established in 1669.
  • The largest island of Croatia is Krk, with a land area of 462 sq km.
  • Croatia's Adriatic coast is home to over 1,000 islands and numerous coastal towns.
  • The White House was built out of Croatian stone, obtained from the island of Brac.
  • The Croatian coat of arms resembles a Lily, known as the Snake’s Head and Leper Lily.
  • Croatia’s currency, Kuna, has been named after a small rodent, known as Marten in English.
  • The necktie was invented in Croatia and is locally known as ‘cravat’.
  • In Croatia, people can start voting at the age of 16, if they have a job, but have to wait until they turn 18, if they are unemployed.

How to Cite

More from