Enter the world of Bikram Yoga. Learn about the 26 poses that comprise this unique branch of yoga.

Bikram Yoga Poses

Bikram yoga is a set of 26 yogic postures or asanas, which are sequentially performed in an environment, which is pre-heated to 100 degrees Fahrenheit. It is believed that doing these exercises for 90 minutes each day will increase a person’s overall health. This was initially copyrighted by Bikram Choudhury, who began giving yoga classes at the age of 20. He has, since 2002, obtained the right to sell licenses to anyone who teaches Bikram yoga. Each posture of the Bikram yoga set has to be done twice before going on to the next one in the sequence. Bikram claims that if anyone practices the following 26 poses in the right way, they will never fall sick throughout their lives.
The 26 Poses Of Bikram Yoga
Pranayama Series
This is the Standing Deep Breathing Pose, which helps warm up the body before any yoga postures are done.
Ardha-Chandrasana and Pada-Hastasana
This is the Half Moon Pose and hands to Feet, and this followed the Pranayama Series.
This is known as the Awkward Pose, since, when performing it, you look awkward as you are half-sitting and half-standing.
This is also called the Eagle Pose, since you resemble a standing eagle when performing this asana.
Also called the Standing Head to Knee Pose, which requires professional assistance since flexibility is required.
This challenging posture is also called the Standing Bow Pulling Pose.
This pose is also called the Balancing Stick Pose, because you look like you are a stick to balance when you are in this posture.
This pose is called the Standing Separate Leg Stretching Pose, and involves deep stretching of both your legs.
Also called the Triangle Pose, this posture involves making your body take a triangular shape.
This asana is also called the Standing Separate Leg Head to Knee Pose, since it involves bending and stretching each knee.
You take the shape of a tree in this posture and hence it is also called the Tree Pose.
This posture, also called the Toe Stand Pose, is a bit complicated for beginners.
Also known as the Dead Body Pose, this asana is perfect to relax your body into a peaceful state.
As this pose helps a person remove wind from the system, it is also called the Wind Removing Pose.
This is the simplest pose of all and is performed after the dead body posture.
In this pose, you imitate a standing cobra before it attacks. Hence, it is called the Cobra Pose.
In this pose, also called the Locust Pose, you would imitate the way a locust stands. Hence the name of it.
This is also called the Full Locust Pose.
This pose is also known as the Bow Pose.
This pose, also called the Fixed Firm Pose, is a good precursor to the next in the series of asanas.
This pose is also called the Half Tortoise Pose.
This pose is also called the Camel Pose, where your body is shaped like a camel.
This pose is also called the Rabbit Pose.
Janushirasana with Paschimotthanasana
This asana is also called the Head to Knee Pose.
Also known as the Spine Twisting Pose, this asana is one of the more difficult ones in the series.
The last posture is also called the Blowing in Firm Pose and is aimed at relaxing the whole body.

How to Cite

More from iloveindia.com