The Solomon Islands is an island-country situated in Melanesia and forms a part of North Solomon Islands. Explore some fun and interesting facts about the Solomon Islands.

Facts About Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands is an island-country situated in Melanesia, which falls to the east of Papua New Guinea. The country is made up of nearly one thousand islands, which together cover an area of approximately 28,400 square kilometers (10,965 sq miles). Melanesian people are believed to have inhabited Solomon Islands for thousands of years. United Kingdom's protectorate over the Solomon Islands started in 1890s and ended in 1976, with attainment of self-governance by the latter. It was two year later, in 1978, that the country became independent. It forms a part of North Solomon Islands stands, which also include Bougainville Province in Papua New Guinea. Let us know some fun and interesting facts about the Solomon Islands.
Image: Stefan Krasowski@flickr
Fun & Interesting Facts about Solomon Islands 
  • The capital of Solomon Islands is Honiara, located on the island of Guadalcanal.
  • The official language of Solomon Islands is English. However, Melanesian pidgin and 120 indigenous languages are also spoken there.
  • Majority of the people in Solomon Islands are Protestants, followed by Roman Catholics and those who have indigenous beliefs.
  • The currency of Solomon Islands is Solomon Islands Dollar.
  • The Solomon Islands became an independent island-country on 7th July 1978.
  • Solomon Islands follow the system of Constitutional Monarchy.
  • There are nearly one thousand islands that form a part of Solomon Islands.
  • The largest of all Solomon Islands is Guadalcanal. Along with that, Choiseul, San Cristobal, Santa Isabel, Malaita and New Georgia are the other significant islands.
  • Mount Makarakomburu, situated on Guadalcanal Island, provides the highest point in Solomon Islands, at 2,447 m.
  • Solomon Islands also house Kavachi, an active underwater volcano.
  • The world's largest salt water lagoon - Marovo Lagoon, is situated in New Georgia, Solomon Islands.
  • East Rennell of Solomon Islands is the largest raised coral atoll in the world.
  • Solomon Islands are home to Lake Tegano - a former lagoon, which is the largest lake in the South Pacific
  • Arnavon Islands serve as an important nesting area for endangered Hawksbill Turtles.
  • It has been found that human occupation dating back to as early as 26000 BC is present on the Solomon Islands.
  • The first European to visit the Solomon Islands was Alvaro de Mendana de Neyra, from Spain.
  • Solomon Islands were named after King Solomon by Mendana, the nephew of the Governor of Peru.
  • Solomon Islands were under the rule of United Kingdom right from 1899 to 1976, with the exception of the war years of 1942 to 1945.
  • The Solomon Islands is a member of the Commonwealth, apart from the University of the South Pacific, in Suva (Fiji).
  • The Solomon Islands is a member of Melanesian Spearhead Group, a Free Trade Area Agreement.
  • In April 2007, Solomon Islands were devastated by a tsunami, which left thousands of people homeless.
  • Fish (tuna), mining and timber are the main industries of the Solomon Islands.

How to Cite

More from