Do you want to explore the alphabetical list of African countries? If yes, then go through this article and get the listing of the countries in Africa, in alphabetical order.

List of Countries In Africa

The second largest continent in the world, after Asia, Africa covers approximately 6 percent of the Earth's total surface area and 20.4 percent of the total land area. It is also the second most-populous continent, again after Asia, and is made up of 53 countries, including Madagascar and various island groups. Africa is the only continent on earth that stretches from the northern temperate to southern temperate zones. It is also the largest of the three great southward projections from the main mass of the Earth's exposed surface. In the following lines, we have listed the alphabetical list of African countries.
Image: Gary Bembridge@flickr
List of Countries In Africa
  • Algeria (People's Democratic Republic of Algeria)
  • Angola (Republic of Angola)
  • Benin (Republic of Benin)
  • Botswana (Republic of Botswana)
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi (Republic of Burundi)
  • Cameroon (Republic of Cameroon)
  • Cape Verde (Republic of Cape Verde)
  • Central African Republic (Central African Republic)
  • Chad (Republic of Chad)
  • Comoros (Union of the Comoros)
  • Côte d'Ivoire (Republic of Côte d'Ivoire)
  • Djibouti (Republic of Djibouti)
  • Egypt (Arab Republic of Egypt)
  • Equatorial Guinea (Republic of Equatorial Guinea)
  • Eritrea (State of Eritrea)
  • Ethiopia (Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia)
  • Gabon (Gabonese Republic)
  • Gambia (Republic of The Gambia)
  • Ghana (Republic of Ghana)
  • Guinea (Republic of Guinea)
  • Guinea-Bissau (Republic of Guinea-Bissau)
  • Kenya (Republic of Kenya)
  • Lesotho (Kingdom of Lesotho)
  • Liberia (Republic of Liberia)
  • Libya (Great Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)
  • Madagascar (Republic of Madagascar)
  • Malawi (Republic of Malawi)
  • Mali (Republic of Mali)
  • Mauritania (Islamic Republic of Mauritania)
  • Mauritius (Republic of Mauritius)
  • Morocco (Kingdom of Morocco)
  • Mozambique (Republic of Mozambique)
  • Namibia (Republic of Namibia)
  • Niger (Republic of Niger)
  • Nigeria (Federal Republic of Nigeria)
  • Republic of the Congo (Republic of the Congo)
  • Rwanda (Republic of Rwanda)
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal (Republic of Senegal)
  • Seychelles (Republic of Seychelles)
  • Sierra Leone (Republic of Sierra Leone)
  • Somalia (Somali Republic)
  • South Africa (Republic of South Africa)
  • Sudan (Republic of Sudan)
  • Swaziland (Kingdom of Swaziland)
  • Tanzania (United Republic of Tanzania) 
  • Togo (Togolese Republic)
  • Tunisia (Tunisian Republic)
  • Uganda (Republic of Uganda)
  • Western Sahara (Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic)
  • Zambia (Republic of Zambia)
  • Zimbabwe (Republic of Zimbabwe)

How to Cite

Related Articles

More from