Chianti Wine is the name given to the wine that is made in the Chianti region of Tuscany. Read on to get information on the types of Chianti Wine

Chianti Wine

Chianti Wine is the name of the wine that is produced in Chianti, a traditional region of Tuscany, Italy. It is one of the most famous red wines of Italy. In the earlier times, the wine used to come in signature squat bottles, which were enclosed in straw baskets, called fiasco. However, the trend started waning with time and today, only few wine makers use the squat bottles for Chianti wine, rather it is bottled in traditionally shaped wine bottles. Chianti wine is available in a wide price range, from the low-end ones to the more sophisticated ones. Chianti is best consumed at room temperature, technically "cellar" temperature, and can last up to 10 years. Given below is more information on Chianti wines.
Till the mid-19th century, Chianti wine was made only from Sangiovese grapes. It was around the second half of the 19th century that Baron Bettino Ricasoli, then Minister in Tuscany and Prime Minister in the Kingdom of Italy, made some alteration in the ingredients used. He imposed that the wine will have 70 percent Sangiovese grapes, 15 percent Canaiolo grapes and 15 percent Malvasia bianca grapes (white grapes). Around the 1970s, the quantity of the white grapes started being reduced. In 1995, it was made illegal to produce Chianti with 100 percent Sangiovese or at least without the white grapes. As of today, for a wine to be called Chianti, it should have at least 80 percent Sangiovese grapes.
Types of Chianti Wine 
  • Chianti Classico (Produced in Firenze and Siena)
  • Chianti Superiore (Produced in Arezzo, Florence, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena)
  • Colli Aretini (produced in the province of Arezzo)
  • Colli Senesi (Pproduced in the province of Siena)
  • Colli Fiorentini (Produced in the province of Firenze)
  • Colline Pisane (Produced in the province of Pisa)
  • Chianti Montalbano (Produced in the provinces of Firenze, Pistoia and Prato)
  • Chianti Montespertoli (Produced in the province of Pisa)
  • Chianti Rufina (Produced in the province of Firenze)
  • Chianti Superiore (produced throughout the Chianti region, except the classico sub-region)

How to Cite

More from