People suffering from celiac disease can control the symptoms by eliminating gluten from the diet permanently. Given here is the list of some gluten free foods that can be consumed instead.

What Are Some Gluten Free Foods

Gluten is a protein extracted by washing the starch out of wheat, rye, barley and other grains. All the people in this world are not capable of digesting gluten, when it comes in contact with the small intestine. Such people are said to be suffering from celiac disease (also called non-tropical sprue or gluten sensitive enteropathy). Celiac disease is normally genetically transferred i.e. if any of your close relatives is known to have a certain gene; it is likely that you will get this disease at some point of time in your life. Apart from injuring the lining of the small intestine, gluten causes weight loss, bloating, diarrhea, gas, abdominal cramps, or vitamin and mineral deficiencies in such a case. Thus, all the people suffering from celiac disease are advised to consume only gluten-free foods. In case you are one of them, read through the following lines and know what are some gluten free foods.
List Of Gluten Free Foods
Vegetables are naturally gluten free, but the cooking methods tend to add gluten to them. To be consumed gluten-free, the veggies should not be used with wheat or other gluten containing flours. Vegetables like artichokes, arugula, asparagus, avocado, beans, beets, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, cabbage, carrots, celery, corn, cucumber, eggplant, garlic, green beans, kale, lettuce, mushrooms, okra, onions, parsley, peas, peppers, potatoes, pumpkin, radish, spinach, squash, sweet potatoes, turnips and watercress are gluten free.
Fruits are also naturally gluten free and they are infused with gluten through cooking and preserving methods. Raw fruits are gluten free and safe to eat. Some of them are acai, apples, apricot, bananas, blackberries, blueberries, cantaloupe, carobs, cherry, cranberries, currants, dates, figs, grapes, guavas, honeydew melons, kiwis, kumquat, lemons, limes, mandarin, mangoes, oranges, papaya, passion fruits, peaches, pears, pineapples, plantains, plums, persimmons, quince, raspberries, strawberries, tamarind, tangerines and watermelons.
Meat & Poultry
Although meat and poultry are naturally gluten free, breaded or fried meat should be avoided. Beef, buffalo, chicken, duck, goat, goose, lamb, pork, rabbit, turkey, quail, veal and venison meat is safe as long as their cooking methods or accompanying ingredients do not contain gluten.
Dairy & Eggs
Butter (containing gluten free additives), cheese (except blue cheese), eggs, milk and yoghurt (plain, unflavored) are all gluten free products.
Grains & Flour
Breads, flour, tortillas, pasta and other products made from gluten free grains can easily be consumed. Such grains and flours include almond flour, amaranth, arrowroot, bean flour, besan, brown rice, brown rice flour, buckwheat, cassava, corn flour, corn meal, cornstarch, cottonseed, dal, flaxseed, Job’s tears, manioc, millet, Milo, pea flour, polenta, potato flour, quinoa, rice, rice flour, sago, soy flour, tapioca flour, taro flour, tef and yucca. Wheat, barley, rye and oats contain gluten and hence should be avoided while taking a gluten free diet.
Alcoholic Beverages
All spirits and beverages, such as brandy, wine, mead, cider, sherry, champagne, whisky, port, rum, tequila and vermouth, are prepared without any grains and hence, are gluten free.

How to Cite

More from