Asia, in terms of area occupied, is the world’s largest continent. Breeze through this article for a comprehensive list of countries that grace the continent of Asia.

List Of Countries In Asia

Asia is the largest continent in the world. If you happen to owe your allegiances to this awe-inspiring continent, you can be proud of the fact that Asia is after all the largest continent on the surface of ‘Mother Earth’! Apart from being the largest continent in the world, Asia is also the world’s most populous continent, but that’s not something any Asian should be necessarily proud of. The continent of Asia occupies approximately 8.6 % of the earth’s total surface area and plays host to around 4 billion people, that’s as good as 60% of the world’s current population. Asia, as a continent, occupies the world’s eastern and northern hemisphere. As far as countries go, Asia boasts of being a gracious host to forty eight of them, dependencies and unrecognized regions excluded. Go ahead and scroll down for a list of the countries, recognized and unrecognized states and non-sovereign territories that belong to the continent of Asia.

Countries In Asia 

The following is a comprehensive list of the official names of the nations and the capital cities of the same in the continent of Asia.
  • Islamic Republic of Afghanistan - Kabul
  • Republic of Armenia - Yerevan
  • Republic of Azerbaijan - Baku
  • Kingdom of Bahrain - Manama
  • People's Republic of Bangladesh - Dhaka
  • Kingdom of Bhutan - Thimphu
  • State of Brunei, Abode of Peace - Bandar Seri Begawan
  • Kingdom of Cambodia - Phnom Penh
  • People's Republic of China - Beijing
  • Republic of Cyprus - Nicosia
  • Georgian Republic - Tbilisi
  • Republic of India - New Delhi
  • Republic of Indonesia - Jakarta
  • Islamic Republic of Iran - Tehran
  • Republic of Iraq - Baghdad
  • State of Israel – Jerusalem
  • Japan - Tokyo
  • The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan - Amman
  • Republic of Kazakhstan - Astana
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea - Pyongyang
  • Republic of Korea - Seoul
  • State of Kuwait - Kuwait City
  • Kyrgyz Republic - Bishkek
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic - Vientiane
  • Lebanese Republic - Beirut
  • Malaysia - Kuala Lumpur
  • Republic of Maldives - Malé
  • Mongolia - Ulan Bator
  • Union of Myanmar - Naypyidaw
  • Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal - Kathmandu
  • Sultanate of Oman - Muscat
  • Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Islamabad
  • Republic of the Philippines - Manila
  • State of Qatar - Doha
  • Russian Federation - Moscow
  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia - Riyadh
  • Republic of Singapore - Singapore City
  • Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka - Sri Jayawardenapura-Kotte
  • Syrian Arab Republic - Damascus
  • Republic of Tajikistan - Dushanbe
  • Kingdom of Thailand - Bangkok
  • Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste - Dili
  • Republic of Turkey - Ankara
  • Turkmenistan - Ashgabat
  • United Arab Emirates - Abu Dhabi
  • Republic of Uzbekistan - Tashkent
  • Socialist Republic of Vietnam - Hanoi
  • Republic of Yemen - San‘a’
The following is a comprehensive list of the official names of recognized and unrecognized states and the capitals of the same in the continent of Asia.
  • Republic of Abkhazia - Sukhumi
  • Nagorno-Karabakh Republic - Stepanakert
  • Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus - Lefkoºa
  • Palestinian Authority - Ramallah
  • Republic of South Ossetia - Tskhinvali
  • Republic of China (Taiwan) – Taipei
The following is a comprehensive list of the official names of the non-sovereign territories and the capital of the same in the continent of Asia.
  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia - Episkopi
  • British Indian Ocean Territory - Diego Garcia
  • Christmas Island - Flying Fish Cove
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands - West Island
  • Hong Kong - Hong Kong
  • Macau - Macau

How to Cite

More from